RSS

The Disciples Forsook Jesus

12 Mar
All Forsook Him

from Google Images

As Judas’ betrayal took place, and when the apostles saw there was danger, they asked the Lord for their orders. They were not afraid. They were willing to fight, even with only two swords (Luke 22:38) against the multitude! While Judas would feel comfortable in today’s media, draining funds away from the Lord’s use to spread the Gospel, so he might support his own cause, Peter would have loved to lead a crusade. Both attitudes are wrong and do not serve God. One would steal in the name Christ, the other would kill in his name. Judas would exploit Christ for his own ends, while Peter would make presumptions upon his Master’s will and risk all for victory. While abiding in Christ (John 15:1-7) one does not act out of Adam’s strength or use this world’s methods (Matthew 26:52).

Only moments ago Peter was too sleepy to fight in the spiritual battle that depressed his Lord to the point of death (Matthew 26:38). Now, like Samson of long ago (Judges 16:20-21), Peter believed he was able to fight in the spiritual war, for which Jesus came into the world. However, Peter never heeded the Lord’s warning to “Watch and pray” (Matthew 26:41; Mark 14:34, 38; Luke 22:40). He awoke from his slumber, as Samson did from his (Judges 16:20-21), and Peter found, what he thought himself able to do, was not only not enough but even had be rectified by Jesus (Luke 22:50-51; John 18:10-11).

This was not a case where the Apostles were unwilling or lacking in courage. They believed no army could defeat them, if their Lord was with them. After all, didn’t Samson single-handedly defeat an entire army with only the jawbone of an ass (Judges 15:14-16)? What was this multitude come against their Messiah? They shall be even as those Philistines of old. The problem was not that the Apostles lacked courage or a willingness to risk their lives, but that their zeal was “strange fire” (cf. Leviticus 10:1), and strange fire cannot be used to serve God (cf. James 1:19-20).

All the disciples “forsook” (aphemi G863) Jesus. This same word is used elsewhere for “forgive” (Matthew 6:12; 18:27-32). The Apostles did not abandon Jesus, as we would understand our English word. They released him and “fled” (pheugo G5343). This word is used elsewhere in the sense of “fleeing” fornication (1Corinthians 6:18), idolatry (1Corinthians 10:14) and the works of the flesh (1Timothy 6:11). I believe the sense here is that the men released Jesus like one would release a debt (Matthew 18:27, 32) and did not take part in what was done to him. That is, they didn’t identify with him like a parent would at the police station when their own child got in trouble. They could have gone with Jesus and protested and raised objection, but they released (G863) him and they fled (G5343), as one would flee a bad habit. They refused to be identified with him under those circumstances. As long as Jesus met their expectations, and they went from victory to victory, they desired to be by his side. Nevertheless, when things got sticky and going with him meant becoming a “gazing stock” (cf. Hebrews 10:33), they let him go… alone.

Shame associated with Jesus, and every Christian must bear it, if he desires to be identified with him. When I am alone, I am a strong Christian, loving the Lord and full of faith. However, when you place me in a group of other men, a strange thing happens. I am not as ready to have everyone in the group know I’m a Christian. I’m like a ship in a war zone that doesn’t readily show his colors. I remember the first time I brought my Bible to work to read during my free time. One of my friends asked me what I was reading. I whispered “the Bible.” he said, “What?” I answered back, “the Bible.” he still didn’t hear what I said, but by now everyone in the room stopped talking to one another and were looking at me and wondering what I said. So, I said for the third time “THE BIBLE!” If I wanted to get everyone’s attention, I couldn’t have done a better job, but the sad fact of the matter is I really didn’t want anyone to know. I was a strong Christian when I was alone, but before men I was ready to release Christ like a bad debt, and flee from him like I would a bad habit. I wish I could say differently, but God knows better. I am no stronger than any one of his disciples on their worst day.

They didn’t run. Nevertheless, neither would they comfort Jesus by being with him during this ordeal. There is no glory in apparent defeat, which is the route they assumed Jesus was taking. Therefore they forsook him, i.e. they gave him up without a friend to stand by him.

 
Comments Off on The Disciples Forsook Jesus

Posted by on March 12, 2021 in Epistle to the Hebrews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.